Is Durham Tap Water Safe to Drink?

Durham's tap water met every federal limit in its 2025 report. The highest routine reading was Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) at 82% of its limit — 49 ppb against a 60 ppb limit.

Two analytes sit above half of a federal limit: Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) at 82% and Total Trihalomethanes (TTHM) at 70% — both disinfection byproducts, which form when disinfectants react with organic matter in the water. Neither exceeded its limit, but they are the numbers to watch in this report.

Key figures — 2025 report

Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
49 ppb against a 60 ppb limit
Lead, 90th percentile
Non-detect — highest single sample 3 ppb (action level: 15 ppb)
Contaminants tested
19 — none above a federal maximum

Serving 333,490 people, PWSID NC0332010.

Lead pathway

Where lead enters Durham's water

Lead is measured where it matters: at customers' taps. Durham's most recent lead and copper compliance round ran from June to September 2025. The 90th percentile was Non-detect against a 15 ppb federal action level, and 0 samples exceeded that level.

"Non-detect" is the report's own wording: the 90th-percentile result sat below the laboratory's reporting limit, and the highest single sample in the round measured 3 ppb against the 15 ppb action level. Because the percentile is not a number, no percent-of-limit can honestly be computed for it — so this page does not show one.

Complete lead tap sampling data is available on request at WQReport@DurhamNC.gov.

The utility's own report attributes lead at the tap to service lines and household plumbing — corrosion of the pipes between the main under the street and the faucet — not to Lake Michie and Little River Reservoir or the treatment plants.

Is my service line lead?

How to find out whether your service line is lead

The utility has been working to identify service line materials throughout the system and has prepared an inventory of all service lines.

Durham maintains a service line inventory at www.DurhamNC.gov/5184.

Residents concerned about lead can contact the City of Durham at 984-242-3012 to have their water tested. The report does not state whether this is free.

What the utility recommends at home

  1. Flush. Before drinking tap water, flush your pipes for several minutes by running the tap, taking a shower, doing laundry or running a load of dishes.
  2. Filter. Use a filter certified by an American National Standards Institute accredited certifier to reduce lead in drinking water.
  3. Identify and remove. Identify and remove lead materials within your home plumbing.

Full contaminant results

Every detected contaminant in Durham's 2025 report

Nineteen contaminants appear in the detected-results tables. Seven were detected at one or more treatment plants; none exceeded a federal maximum contaminant level. These tables sit on top of a broader program: the utility routinely monitors more than 150 contaminants under federal and state law.

Durham maintains two residual disinfectants in the system — chloramines and chlorine — each reported against the same 4 ppm maximum residual disinfectant level. Each has its own row in the table below.

System-wide results

ContaminantYour waterLimit% of limitRange
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)49 ppb (highest LRAA)60 ppb82%13 – 48
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHM)56 ppb (highest LRAA)80 ppb70%26 – 54
Chloramines1.5 ppm (annual average)4 ppm38%0.01 – 3
Chlorine0.63 ppm (annual average)4 ppm16%0 – 2.04
Fluoride0.7 ppm4 ppm18%0.67 – 0.77
Turbidity (highest single measurement)0.1 NTUTreatment technique violation if turbidity exceeds 1 NTU
Total Organic Carbon removal ratio1.58 ratioTreatment technique violation if the removal ratio RAA falls below 1.00 and alternative compliance criteria are not met1.43 – 1.65

Haloacetic Acids (HAA5): The report lists a highest LRAA of 49 ppb with a range of 13–48 ppb. The LRAA exceeds the stated range maximum. Both figures are reproduced as printed.

Total Trihalomethanes (TTHM): The report lists a highest LRAA of 56 ppb with a range of 26–54 ppb. The LRAA exceeds the stated range maximum. Both figures are reproduced as printed.

Total Organic Carbon removal ratio: Reported as the lowest running annual average removal ratio. Above 1.00 indicates compliance.

Tested for and not detected

Eleven more analytes were monitored and came back below the laboratory reporting limit. The "<" values are the reporting limits themselves — the utility's instruments found nothing above them.

See all eleven not-detected analytes and their reporting limits
ContaminantResultLimit (MCL)
Nitrate (as Nitrogen)<1.0 ppm10 ppm
Nitrite (as Nitrogen)<0.1 ppm1 ppm
Arsenic<0.005 ppm0.01 ppm
Barium<0.025 ppm2 ppm
Cadmium<0.001 ppm0.005 ppm
Chromium<0.02 ppm0.1 ppm
Mercury<0.0002 ppm0.002 ppm
Atrazine<0.1 ppb3 ppb
Dalapon<0.1 ppb200 ppb
Simazine<0.1 ppb4 ppb
E. coli0 positive or present samples0 presence/absence

Secondary (aesthetic) parameters

These are measured against secondary standards — federal guidelines for taste, odor and staining, not health-based limits.

ParameterAverageRangeGuideline (SMCL)
Sodium33.9 ppm20.2 – 42.2None set
Sulfate56.5 ppm47.2 – 71.7250 ppm
pH7.5 pH units7.4 – 7.56.5 – 8.5 pH units
Iron<0.053 ppm<0.050 – <0.0630.3 ppm
Manganese<0.013 ppm<0.010 – 0.020.05 ppm
Nickel<0.01 ppmNone set

PFAS and other unregulated contaminants

Durham sampled for unregulated contaminants four times in 2025 (11 February 2025, 19 May 2025, 12 August 2025 and 10 November 2025). The utility's framing: "Unregulated contaminants are those for which EPA has not established drinking water standards." Four compounds were detected:

CompoundAverageRangeFinalized federal MCL
PFBS5.9 ppt3.1 – 7.7 pptNone
PFOS5.6 ppt4.6 – 7.2 ppt4 ppt
PFOA3.8 ppt2.8 – 5.7 ppt4 ppt
PFBA2.2 ppt2 – 3.5 pptNone

Where that leaves Durham: PFOS averaged 5.6 ppt and PFOA reached 5.7 ppt at the top of its range — above the 4.0 ppt federal Maximum Contaminant Levels the EPA finalized in April 2024. Those limits are final but not yet enforceable: systems are not required to meet them until 26 April 2029 (the EPA has proposed an exemption pathway to 2031, not finalized as of August 2026), so these results do not violate any current federal drinking water standard. At the same time, the EPA's health-based goal for PFOA and PFOS is zero, and water above the future limits will likely need treatment or new sources before the deadline. PFBS and PFBA carry no individual federal limit: PFBS counts only toward a mixture hazard index that the EPA has proposed to rescind — Durham's 5.9 ppt contributes a negligible share of it — and PFBA is not federally regulated in drinking water.

Regulatory status verified against EPA sources on 29 August 2026.

Complete unregulated-contaminant results are available on request at WQReport@DurhamNC.gov.

Where your water comes from

Lake Michie and Little River Reservoir to your tap

Durham draws its drinking water from Lake Michie and Little River Reservoir.

Treatment happens at the Williams Water Treatment Plant (1405 Hillandale Road) and the Brown Water Treatment Plant (1615 Infinity Road). The report publishes all results system-wide rather than per plant.

Some of this water was purchased from Town of Cary

Durham also purchased water from Town of Cary (system 03-92-020) during the 2025 report year. Depending on where you live and when, the water at your tap may have come partly from Town of Cary's system rather than from Durham's own plants — and Town of Cary's water is tested and reported separately. Town of Cary publishes its own water quality results at carync.gov.

Source water assessment

The North Carolina DEQ Public Water Supply Section, Source Water Assessment Program (SWAP) rated Durham's sources on a "Higher", "Moderate" and "Lower" scale:

SourceSusceptibility ratingAssessment date
Lake MichieHigher2020
Little River ReservoirHigher2020

What that rating means — and does not mean: A susceptibility rating of "higher" does not imply poor water quality, only the system's potential to become contaminated by potential contaminant sources in the assessment area. The rating combines a contaminant rating (number and location of potential contaminant sources within the assessment area) with an inherent vulnerability rating for the watershed.

Full assessment reports: ncwater.org/?page=600, or (919) 707-9098 / swap@deq.nc.gov.

Source protection programs

  • Watershed Protection Program: Buffers the source water from development around the reservoirs and upstream.
  • Long Range Water Resources Plan: A roadmap to 2070 forecasting future demand, outlining ways to use water more efficiently, and exploring supply options under a range of future scenarios.

What you can do

Should you filter Durham tap water?

Durham's data points at disinfection byproducts: Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) at 82% of its limit and Total Trihalomethanes (TTHM) at 70% of its limit. Both are within federal limits, but they are the highest readings in the report by a wide margin.

The relevant device for disinfection byproducts is an activated carbon filter — carbon is the standard at-the-tap treatment for trihalomethanes and haloacetic acids. Look for a filter whose certification names TTHM or disinfection byproduct reduction, and verify the claim on the certifier's listing before buying. One extra check for Durham: the system runs chloramines as well as chlorine, and chloramine is harder for a basic carbon filter to remove than free chlorine — if taste and odor matter to you, choose a filter explicitly rated for chloramine reduction.

What this data does not tell you

Every number on this page describes water at the plants, in the mains, or as a system-wide statistic. None of it was measured in your building. If you want to know about your water rather than Durham's, testing at your own tap is the only source.

Your pipes tell a different story

The data above shows what leaves the treatment plant—not what comes out of your faucet. Old pipes, lead solder, and building plumbing can add contaminants the city never tests for. Know exactly what's in your Durham tap water.

Home test kits detect lead, bacteria, pesticides, and 100+ other contaminants. Results in 5-10 business days from certified labs.

Water splashing from a kitchen faucet

If testing does point at a specific contaminant, our filter guides cover certifications and what to verify before buying.

Frequently asked questions

Durham's water met every federal limit in its 2025 report. The highest routine reading was Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) at 82% of its limit.
Durham's 2025 compliance round reported the lead 90th percentile as "Non-detect", with the highest single sample at 3 ppb against a 15 ppb action level. Lead enters water from service lines and household plumbing, so a system statistic cannot clear any individual building — a test at your own tap is the only number that describes your house.
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5): 49 ppb against a 60 ppb limit, which is 82% of the limit. Individual results ranged from 13 to 48 ppb. The report lists a highest LRAA of 49 ppb with a range of 13–48 ppb. The LRAA exceeds the stated range maximum. Both figures are reproduced as printed.
Residents concerned about lead can contact the City of Durham at 984-242-3012 to have their water tested. The report does not state whether this is free. The utility's contact for lead questions is (919) 560-4381.
Check the inventory at www.DurhamNC.gov/5184. The utility has been working to identify service line materials throughout the system and has prepared an inventory of all service lines.
Yes. Durham's 2025 quarterly sampling detected four compounds: PFBS (average 5.9 ppt), PFOS (average 5.6 ppt), PFOA (average 3.8 ppt) and PFBA (average 2.2 ppt). None of these results violates a current federal drinking water standard — the EPA's finalized 4.0 ppt limits for PFOA and PFOS do not become enforceable until April 2029 — but Durham's PFOS average sits above that future limit. See the PFAS section on this page for the full regulatory picture.
None were recorded in the 2025 report.
Lake Michie and Little River Reservoir. Durham also purchased water from Town of Cary during the 2025 report year, so some customers' water came partly from that system.

Sources and methodology

Primary sources

  • *2025 Annual Drinking Water Quality Report* (Consumer Confidence Report, published 30 June 2026), City of Durham Department of Water Management, PWSID NC0332010 — www.durhamnc.gov/946
  • EPA Safe Drinking Water Information System (SDWIS), PWSID NC0332010
  • EPA PFAS National Primary Drinking Water Regulation and related Federal Register proposals — regulatory status checked 29 August 2026

How we compiled this

We do not test water. Every figure on this page is transcribed from documents published by City of Durham Department of Water Management or the EPA, and each is attributed to the document it came from. Where two published figures disagree, we show both and say so rather than choosing one.

Lead and copper values are 90th-percentile compliance statistics from the 2025 sampling round. We state sample years next to values rather than presenting everything as current.

Author: TapWater.org Editorial Team — https://www.tapwater.org/about

Data current as of: the 2025 Consumer Confidence Report

This page presents publicly available regulatory data. It is not medical advice. Water quality varies by building and over time. For official information, contact City of Durham Department of Water Management at (919) 560-4381.

Last updated: 2026-09-11